Defence Research Board. The Defence Research Board, established in 1947 by an amendment to the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4), advises the Minister of National Defence on scientific matters relating to defence and evaluates the contribution of science and technology to the achievement of defence objectives. The functions of the board were redefined on April 1, 1974 when its research and administrative activities and staff were absorbed within the framework of the Department of National Defence.

The board consists of a full-time chairman, a vice-chairman and 12 members appointed by the Governor in Council for three-year terms. The Deputy Minister of National Defence, the president of the National Research Council and three senior officers of the Canadian Forces are ex officio members. The board has

its headquarters in Ottawa.

Department of Agriculture. This department was established in 1867 (SC 1868, c.53) and now operates under authority of RSC 1970, c.A-10. It undertakes work on all phases of agriculture. Research and experimentation are carried out by the Research, Health of Animals and Economics branches, and the Grain Research Laboratory; and the maintenance of standards and protection of products, by the Production and Marketing and Health of Animals branches. The Food Systems Branch plans and coordinates market-oriented food systems. The Canada Grain Act, as it pertains to the inspection, weighing, storage and transportation of grain, is administered by the Canadian Grain Commission, which is a part of the department. Programs concerning farm income security and price stability are provided under the Crop Insurance Act, the Canadian Dairy Commission Act, the Agricultural Stabilization Act and the Agricultural Products Board Act. The Agricultural Stabilization Board, the Agricultural Products Board, the Farm Credit Corporation, the Canadian Dairy Commission, the Canadian Livestock Feed Board and the National Farm Products Marketing Council report to Parliament through the Minister of Agriculture.

Department of Communications. The department was established under Part II of the 1969 Government Organization Act and operates under authority of the Department of Communications Act (RSC 1970, c.C-24). The Minister of Communications is responsible for fostering the orderly operation and development of communications for Canada. This includes recommending national policies and programs regarding communications services for Canada, promoting the efficiency and growth of Canadian communications systems and assisting them to adjust to changing conditions and encouraging the development and introduction of new communication facilities and resources. Its responsibilities also include managing the radio frequency spectrum to permit the orderly use of radio communications, protecting Canadian interests in international telecommunications matters, and coordinating telecommunications services for departments and agencies of the Government of Canada.

Teleglobe Canada, the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission and Telesat

Canada report to Parliament through the Minister of Communications.

Department of Consumer and Corporate Affairs. This department was established in 1967 (RSC 1970, c.C-27) replacing the Department of the Registrar General of Canada. The duties, powers and functions of the minister extend to and include all matters over which the Parliament of Canada has jurisdiction, not by law assigned to any other department, branch or agency of the Government of Canada, relating to: consumer affairs; corporations and corporate securities; combines, mergers, monopolies and restraint of trade;

bankruptcies and insolvencies; and patents, copyrights, trade marks and industrial design.

The functions of the department are divided into five main areas. The Bureau of Consumer Affairs coordinates government activities in the field of consumer affairs; the Bureau of Corporate Affairs administers the government's corporate activities; the Bureau of Intellectual Property administers laws and regulations pertaining to patents, trade marks, industrial designs and copyrights; and the Field Operations Service supervises the department's operations across Canada, staffing regional and district offices in five Canadian cities from coast to coast and district offices in 30 others. Competition policy is regulated by the Bureau of Competition Policy. In addition, as Registrar General of Canada, the Minister of Consumer and Corporate Affairs is the custodian of the Great Seal of Canada, the Privy Seal of the Governor General, the Seal of the Administrator of Canada and the Seal of the Registrar General of Canada. The Restrictive Trade Practices Commission (Combines Investigation Act) is domiciled in the department and reports directly to the minister.

Department of Energy, Mines and Resources. The Department of Energy, Mines and Resources was created in 1966 by the Government Organization Act (RSC 1970, c.E-6). The department, in addition to its administrative services, the Office of Energy Conservation and the Office of Energy Research and Development, is organized into three sectors. The Energy Development Sector has responsibilities relating to the development of plans and policies for all forms of energy, the development of programs, legislation and agreements to implement those policies, the direction of studies relating to energy sources and requirements, and the coordination of policy advice. A major responsibility of the sector is research on and the formulation of a national energy policy. The Mineral Development Sector gathers economic data on non-renewable resources for use by government, industry and the public. It also develops policy proposals